I direct the Environmental Geopolitics Research Group. EGRG is meant to be a common place for graduate students interested in the intersection between critical social science approaches and perspectives and the study of environmental conflict and violence. Our lab is comprised of undergraduate, Masters as well as PhD students working around the world.

The lab group meets on a bi-weekly basis to discuss term papers, thesis ideas, proposal and grant writing and others issues which are meant to be beneficial for all students.


2022 Dr. Wenjing Xu (Starting Aug 1)
2020 Dr. John Mullen (Sustainability and Development)
2020 Dr. Philile Mbatha (University of Michigan Africa Presidential Scholars)

Current Students

PhD Students
2020 Ember McCoy
2019 Marlotte De Jong

PhD Committee Advising

2022 K. Malulani Castro
2018 Kristen Connor (Anthropology & History)
2017 Katherine Browne

Masters of Science (Thesis)

2024 Meghna Patnaik
2022 Evan Klasky
2021 Roshan Krishnan

Masters of Science (Non-Thesis)

2020 Danielle Vermeer
2020 Samuel Lisak
2019 Robert Hart
2019 Cara Thuringer
2019 Ryan Horowitz
2019 Danielle Triebwasser
2019 Isabella Bledsoe
2018 Linnea Carver (Dual with Ford School for Public Policy)


PhD Committee Advising
2015 Hayden Hedman
2013 Maria Carolina Simao
2012 Joshua Cousins (Now at SUNY-ESF)
2011 Baruani Mshale (Now at CIFOR)

Masters of Science (Thesis)
2017 Marlotte De Jong: Constructing the Poacher: Narratives of Blame in Ivory Poaching
2017 Saachi Kuwayama: Protesting on Behalf: Constructing Legitimacy in Water Movements
2015 Claire Poelking: Gender and Pastoralism in an age of shifting political economies of labor
2015 Amanda Kaminsky: China in Africa and the New Safari (Currently PhD Student at University of Michigan)
2012 Cara Steger: Citizen Science and Natural Resource Monitoring in African Protected Areas (Currently PhD Student at Colorado State University)
2012 Erin O’Brien (committee member; Johannes Foufopoulos, Advisor): Effects of grazing treatments on vegetative regrowth in East African savanna grasslands
2011 David O’Connor (committee member; Johannes Foufopoulos, Advisor): Grazing ecologies of giraffe and camels in Northern Kenya: Possibilities for Competition? (Currently at the San Diego Zoo)
2011 Wan-Chih Cheng (committee member; Johannes Foufopoulos, Advisor): Effects of small ruminant grazing on ecosystems services in Greece

Masters of Science (Non-Thesis)
2018: Colleen Hill (Dual with Ross School of Business)
2016 April Richards
2015 Alexandra Clayton (Dual with Ford School for Public Policy)
2013 Jordan Fischer (Dual with Ross School of Business)
2012 Katie O’Gara: Community Forestry in Tanzania

Undergraduate Students involved in ESCRG Projects
2014 Syeda Zaynab Mahmood (UROP Scholar)
2013 Audrey Chitkara
2013 Cordi Craig
2012 Zachary Petroni (Wallenburg Fellow)
2011 Jordan McHugh (UROP Scholar)